Brief thought on 9-11

The fact that today, I will have normal conversations (have already had several), pray with people over prayer requests, tell and hear jokes, sing, lead a Bible study, conduct business, eat a meal, and read my Bible speaks to me not so much of a resiliency of the American spirit, but rather, of our dependence upon the steadfastness of a faithful God.

Getting ready to go to work that day and seeing the disasters that happened to our nation was a day I will never forget, like many of you. I still went to work, but none of my appointments showed up, and I just watched the TV all day as I inwardly began to process what was happening.

Today, I slept in 30 minutes (thanks Sarah!), milled around a bit at home, had my favorite breakfast served to me by my sweet 7 year old girl while I was still in bed, came in to work, had a phone conversation with a very dear friend on the way, lowered the flag to half-staff, cleaned all the love bugs out of the carpet of my office (if you don’t know what a love bug is, you owe it to yourself to google it), and have opened my Bible and began the process of relying upon God to live this day. And the fact that I can do all that today reminds me of God’s faithfulness even through tragedy. Whether the day after, or a decade later or more, God’s faithfulness is endless, matchless, and continually present.

And while the sting has dulled a bit from 9/11 – time has had her healing effect on our nation to some degree – we are reminded of the words of the prophet during a terrible time of Israel’s history – found in Lamentations 3:

19 Remember my affliction and my wanderings, the wormwood and the gall! 

20 My soul continually remembers it and is bowed down within me. 

21 But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: 

22 The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end;

23 they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 

24 “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”

Leave a Reply

